Leslie H. Blumgart Historical Lecture

The Leslie H. Blumgart Historical Lectureship was established to offer broad historical and educational content in honor of Leslie H. Blumgart’s legacy. Dr. Blumgart was one of the pioneering hepatobiliary surgeons of our time, and his contributions to our field are enormous and well known to all in HPB surgery. His body of work was largely responsible for establishing the modern standards of HPB surgery, and many of the principles and techniques that he described remain in active practice. Indeed, whether directly or indirectly, Dr. Blumgart has been a mentor to all in HPB surgery.

2024    Olusegun Isaac Alatise MBChB, MSc | Starting an HPB Program From Scratch: Closing the Gap in West Africa

2023    Elizabeth Pomfret MD, PhD | Living Donor Liver Transplantation for Cancer: Fusion of Hepatobiliary and Transplant Surgery

2022    O. James Garden MD, CBE, BSc, MB, ChB | A 50 Year Legacy in HPB Surgery

2021    Henri Bismuth MD | When Liver and Bile Duct Meet: The Biliary Confluence

2020    Jacques Belghiti MD, PhD | Innovation and Progress in Liver Surgery

2019    David M Nagorney MD | Hilar Cholangiocarcinoma. Reflections and Perspectives

2018    David Adams MD | The Pancreas Odyssey

2017    Russell Strong MD | Traveler, There is No Path, a Path is Made by Walking

2016    Steven Strasberg MD | Bile Duct Injury: Puzzles and Quandaries

2015    William Meyers MD | Taking the Leap

2014    J. Michael Henderson MD | A Historical Journey Through Variceal Bleeding

2013    Howard Reber MD | The Whipple Procedure